Christmas movies

Here are a few highlights from my Christmas movie marathon of the past week:

LOVE ACTUALLY

I typically watch this every year. I’ve seen a few American knock offs of this. The “cram several stories into a romantic comedy” formula, preferably set around some kind of holiday has been repeated too many times and it has never lived up to this British original. They’re not as clever or funny and the way the stories are linked just feels so forced. Love Actually never did. Each time I watch it there is something new that I’ve forgotten about that has me in hysterics, yesterday it was this kid in the nativity play.

ELF

Just watched this one tonight and remembered how much I love it. I think I’m going to make paper snowflakes next year.  I love the part where Buddy buys his dad lingerie, I also love this bit.

MUPPET CHRISTMAS CAROL

One of my longest running traditions is to watch this movie every Christmas Eve. I know the lyrics to all the songs. When I grew up and read Charles Dickens’ book I had a hard time reading it without imagining Muppets, Bob Cratchit kept forming in my head as Kermit. If you haven’t read the original, there’s no excuse. It’s a short, beautiful read and available for free here.

Needless to say, I can’t wait for the new Muppet movie.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

