A pre-university enforced post post

Uni blogging season is upon us again. Expect to see things here of a slightly more academic nature. This semester we must pick a topic of interest. Naturally, my mind went straight to music. This is not a specific topic. As was pointed out to us in a lecture, music unfortunately carries with it some ugly, ugly crimes against art. Humanity, even. Furthermore, there are some areas of music, so out of my element, I couldn’t begin to tell you about them. Sorry jazz. Sorry techno.

“Break it down. Pick a genre, Rachel,” said my inner-monologue. Well, that’s a bit hard too. I like 80s girl bands. I like 60s singer-songwriters. I like British indie bands. I like space rock.

It’s a big ask for a commitment-phobe. God forbid I pick Celtic Punk and then become hopelessly overcome with the urge to analyse just why I love the shoes on the back Cyndi Lauper’s 1983 classic, She’s So Unusual, so very much.

Okay, I suppose it doesn't need analysing. I mean, just look at them. ❤

And how much should I narrow down? Scottish indie? Scandinavian pop – from Roxette to The Hives?

I think I might go with a live music theme. I spend enough money on it, I should try and justify that it is for my education. I’m thinking, specifically, live music currently touring Australia. As much as I would have loved to have gone to Coachella or Glastonbury in recent months, or the Reading Festival this coming weekend, it makes more sense to write about things I have seen, would like to see and can get excited about. Stay tuned.

This entry was posted in Music, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A pre-university enforced post post

  1. Sian says:

    ZOMG starry night shoes. I approve of live music!

Leave a Reply

