Friday I’m in love

I’m spoiled for choice with Friday songs, so here are my top three.

I love The Cure. I think the reputation they’ve gained for being a depressing band is a little unfair. They do gloomy songs, and they do them well. If you want to sit in the dark and cry, one of the best soundtracks you could pick would be the 1989 album Disintegration. But if you want a song that will make you feel inexplicably happy you could do far worse than listen to Why Can’t I Be You? or my first ‘Friday’ song Friday I’m in Love. In the video, the band display a healthy appreciation for headwear.

Next is an Australian classic from 1966, Friday On My Mind by The Easybeats. In 2001, APRA voted it the best Australian song of all time.

If you don’t want to “have fun in the city” you could spend your Friday night in the Swedish countryside at the drive-in bingo. Jens Lekman writes lovely songs with amazing lyrics. Here’s a sample from Friday Night At The Drive-In Bingo:

“We could fake our deaths to get insurance money

And take on hippie names I’d be Snowphish, you’d be Sunny,

We could start a little farm with little white bunnies

Just cause watching them copulate is very funny.”

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

